Facebook has added a new setting that gives users the option of having their account permanently deleted when they die.
Or, if they wish, they can choose to appoint a friend or family member to take control of some aspects of the account after their death.
These features were among the most requested by users who gave feedback on its memorial page policies.
Facebook’s legacy contact feature will initially only be available in the US.
Announcing the new feature, Facebook said: “When a person passes away, their account can become a memorial of their life, friendships and experience.
“By talking to people who have experienced loss, we realised there is more we can do to support those who are grieving and those who want a say in what happens to their account after death.”
If a user chooses to allow someone to manage their page in the event of their death, that person will be able to
- write a post to display at the top of the memorialised timeline
- respond to new friend requests
- update the profile picture and cover photo
People can also choose to give their legacy contact permission to download an archive of the photos, posts and profile information they shared on Facebook.
Other settings will remain the same. The legacy contact will not be able to log in as the person who died or see their private messages.